Dr. Michael Dunbar named as research chair

By and | Posted to this site on: Sep 17, 2015

Dr. Michael Dunbar named as research chair

Dr. Dunbar and Candy Palmater, grateful patient who shared her inspiring story at the announcement.


Yesterday among donors, partners, colleagues and friends, Dr. Michael Dunbar was named the inaugural QEII Foundation Endowed Chair in Arthroplasty Outcomes.

Orthopaedic surgeon at the QEII Health Sciences Centre and a professor at Dalhousie University in the Departments of Surgery, Biomedical Engineering, and Community Health and Epidemiology, Dr. Dunbar’s research will focus on improving delivery of care and outcomes for arthroplasty patients, giving them timely access to care and better quality of life. Arthroplasty is a surgical procedure to restore the integrity and function of a joint.

Each year, over 6,600 Atlantic Canadians receive orthopaedic surgery – 1,200 of those receive hip and knee replacement surgery. Nova Scotia has significant challenges associated with the delivery of arthroplasty care, including long wait times for surgery and even more concerning, a higher failure rate than the national average.

“The power of this chair position is how it intersects with many disciplines and the ability to look for patterns,” explains Dr. Dunbar. “Atlantic Canada is chronically behind in arthroplasty outcomes and we need to know why. As chair, I can align with national and international efforts and research data to improve arthroplasty care and bring that learning here to the QEII.” The QEII Foundation Endowed Chair in Arthroplasty Outcomes is a $2.8-million investment and was made possible through generous QEII Foundation donors, and funding partners BMO Financial Group and the QEII Health Sciences Centre Division of Orthopaedic Surgery.


Full Story – http://qe2foundation.ca/file/stay-connected/Arthroplasty-Chair-Media-Release.pdf 












Dr. Alexander Dr. Amirault Dr. Biddulph Dr. Coady Dr. Coles Dr. Dunbar Dr. Glazebrook Dr. Gross Dr. Johnston Dr. Leighton Dr. Oxner
Dr. Reardon Dr. Richardson Dr. Trenholm Dr. Wong Dr. Howard Dr. Orlik Dr. Logan Dr. El-Hawary Dr. O'Brien Dr. Legay Dr. Venugopal