Dr. Ron El-Hawary

About Dr. Ron El-Hawary

Dr. El-Hawary is Chief of Orthopaedics at the IWK Health Centre and is Associate Professor, Department of Surgery, Dalhousie University (Cross-appointments with the School of Biomedical Engineering and with the Division of Neurosurgery). He is the Vice Chair of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada Orthopaedic Examination Committee, Executive Committee Member of the Children's Spine Study Group, Board Member of the Children's Spine Foundation, Secretary of the Canadian Paediatric Orthopaedic Group, and is Past President of the Canadian Paediatric Spine Study Group. Dr. El-Hawary also serves on the Growing Spine and Website Committees of the Scoliosis Research Society and on the Research Committee of the Paediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America. Dr. El-Hawary's education consisted of a Bachelor of Mechanical Engineering (1994), Bachelor of Science in Medicine (1998), and Medical Doctorate (1998) all from Dalhousie University in Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada. He completed his Residency in Orthopaedic Surgery (2003) and his Master of Science in Medical Biophysics (2004) from the University of Western Ontario in London, Ontario, Canada. He received further education as an Edwards Fellow in Paediatric Orthopaedics and Scoliosis Surgery at the Texas Scottish Rite Hospital for Children in Dallas, Texas (2005). In 2006, he was chosen to be a Scoliosis Research Society Dawson Traveling Fellow and, in 2010, was selected to be a Paediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America European Traveling Fellow. His clinical interests include the correction of spinal deformity and paediatric trauma. His research interests include scoliosis, paediatric trauma, and radiostereophotogrammetric analysis (RSA).

See Dr. Ron El-Hawary's full profile.

Jun 04, 2017

Early Onset Scoliosis

EOS Time for Consensus Spine Deformity March 2015 – Akbarnia El-Hawary

Dr. Alexander Dr. Amirault Dr. Biddulph Dr. Coady Dr. Coles Dr. Dunbar Dr. Glazebrook Dr. Gross Dr. Johnston Dr. Leighton Dr. Oxner
Dr. Reardon Dr. Richardson Dr. Trenholm Dr. Wong Dr. Howard Dr. Orlik Dr. Logan Dr. El-Hawary Dr. O'Brien Dr. Legay Dr. Venugopal